Saying goodbye: A chat with the Sooners Seniors

2014-2015 Oklahoma Sooners Seniors.
2014-2015 Oklahoma Sooners Seniors.

Another year, another hard goodbye. Here we are yet again saying “thanks for all the fish” to a group of young men we’ve watched grow for the past four years on and off the ice. The Sooners finish the regular season 24-8-1 and are now preparing for the National Tournament in Cleveland,OH on March 7th.

This year, we again say goodbye to six:

#90 Bryce Johnson (Grimes,IA)- 2014-15= 23G 25A in 29GP; 2G 3A at WUG

#1 Colin Fernandes (Surry,BC)- 2014-15= 19-7; GAA 2.60; .900SV%; 675 saves in 30GP

#10 Joe Adams (Orange,CA)- 2014-15= 3G 7A in 34 GP

#19 Darrell Boldon (Calgary, AB)- 2014-15= 17G 14A in 32GP

#27 Brandon Dennis (Williamsport,PA)- 2014-15= 3G 4A in 12GP

#81 Matt Mckinney (Dallas,TX)- 2014-15= 9G 7A in 22GP

Like years past, I ask a couple of the guys a couple questions about their future and their thoughts on playing hockey at The University of Oklahoma. This year, I talked with Joe Adams, Colin Fernandes and Brandon Dennis.

Goaltender Colin Fernandes:

IMG_1770

What is your next move?
As of right now, I plan on returning to OU next fall to complete my business degree in Risk Management and graduate in December 2015.
What would be a favorite moment/s while playing at OU?
I’m fortunate enough to have had a lot of great memories and moments during my time at OU. The trip we took to Vancouver in 2012, to play in the Great Northwest Showcase, is probably the most memorable moment that I’ve had so far. That trip was a great experience.
Anything in particular that you will miss about the school/team??
I’m really going to miss playing competitive hockey. 
Do you take any special preps for the tourney (superstitions)?
No, I don’t. I’m not an overly superstitious person. I am just going to prepare the same way I would for any other game.
After missing part of the season last year, how did it feel to put in a full starting season for your final year?
It felt great to be physically able, and ready, to contribute to the team in the way that I know that I am capable of.
Right-Wing Brandon Dennis:
IMG_3106

What is your next move?

I will be graduating with a Bachelor degree in Business Administration, Sports Management at the University of Oklahoma in the summer of 2015. During the fall of 2014, I hung my skates up for a semester to work a Hockey Development Internship with the Pittsburgh Penguins. Currently, I am working on a semester long class project partnered with the Oklahoma City Thunder analyzing specific marketing opportunities. My goal is to stay as close to the game as I can.

What would be a favorite moment/s while playing at OU?

One of my favorite moment’s while playing at the University of Oklahoma was the come from behind win against Oakland during the 2013 National Tournament in Chicago, IL. Darrell Bolden scored the overtime winner to advance OU to the second round. Another memorial moment was during the Great Northwest Showcase in Surrey, BC. Colin Fernandes got to face his hometown team, University of British Columbia. He led all goalies in the tournament who played 2 games with a .911 save percentage. This year it was great to see Bryce Johnson, Jordan Greenburg, and Mico Solorzano get selected to represent team USA at the World University Games in Granada, Spain.

Anything in particular that you will miss about the school/team??

The relationships with my teammates and friends I have made along the way. Being able to come to the rink every day and just be a hockey player.

Do you take any special preps for the tourney (superstitions)?

No special preparations or superstitions heading into the tournament. I have a good feeling about this year and the group of guys we have in the locker room. For a lot of us this is our third year in a row playing in the tournament, so it’s nice going to Cleveland knowing what it takes to win.

Defenseman Joe Adams:
IMG_0769
What is your next move?
I am graduating with a Bachelor’s in history in May. I am moving back home to California, and I am planning on coaching youth hockey and teaching high school history. I’ve also applied to various organizations to work with film and editing, so that is an option.
What would be a favorite moment/s while playing at OU?
This past senior night was a great moment. Even though we lost, it was a fun atmosphere with the Pride of Oklahoma and a great crowd in attendance. It was an exciting game, and I definitely made sure to take it all in and enjoy it.
Anything in particular that you will miss about the school/team??
Being around the team everyday will definitely be something I’ll miss as well as being around campus. OU is filled with such a rich history and tradition, being a part of something much bigger than ourselves like that on a daily basis is quite flattering.
Do you take any special preps for the tourney (superstitions)?
I don’t really do anything too superstitious. I try to treat every game like it is the same. This tournament will be my last, so it is a little bit different but our end goal has not changed.
Leave a Reply

